Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Resume & Letters of Recommendation

Home | Curriculum | One-Of-A-Kind | Credentials | Infant Care | Location

Job Objective:  I enjoy helping children of all ages find their way. This means meeting the needs of infants, singing silly songs and learning the ABC’s with toddlers, helping school-aged children with homework and relaxing after a long day at school, and mentoring pre-teens. I strongly believe in following a child’s lead and treating children as the intelligent little people whom they are. I try to avoid television at all costs; as there are so many mind-stimulating activities for children of all ages, there’s never really a need for TV. I do not believe in physical discipline of any kind. If we expect our children to use their words when they are upset or frustrated; we should be expected to do the same. It is so important to calmly discuss whatever offense has taken place and rationally discuss the consequences. 

I am certified in infant/child CPR and first aid. I am also educated and experienced with regard to lactation education. I have a clean driving record, which I can provide a copy of, and will have any and all car seats that I install in my car for use by your child(ren) inspected by the Orange County Community Traffic Safety Team.

 

Position Desired:  Childcare provider

 

Education:  I recently graduated from Valencia Community College with a 3.6 GPA and have been accepted into the Valencia Nursing Program (which is on hold for the time being). I plan to get a masters degree as a Certified Nurse Midwife. I am also a certified birth doula through Doulas of North America.

 

About Me: I am married to a great husband and loving father, Casper and we have a wonderful 5 year old son, Kale and beautiful 1-year-old daughter, Timber. I am a certified doula, which is “a woman experienced in childbirth who provides continuous physical, emotional, and informational support to the mother before, during and just after childbirth.” DONA is the leading doula organization, with which I trained and certified to become a doula.  I am also a member of the Central Florida Birth Network (http://www.CentralFloridaBirthNetwork.com). I attend Woodbury Presbyterian Church every Sunday and my relationship with Jesus Christ is the driving force in my life.

 

Availability:  I am available full time.

 

Prior Work Experience:

 

Donna and Dale

Sadie was in my care 2 days a week when she was 2 ½ years old. At the time we were at capacity with 4 children total. She is an eager little girl who loves to learn and enjoyed all of the daily activities.

 

Dan and Brenda

I cared for Désirée four days a week when she was 2 years old. She's a very bright little girl. She Kale and Ryan played together wonderfully. We spent time working on potty training and she was quite proud of herself for her accomplishments. We went on outings and play dates and also worked on the alphabet and numbers. Désirée really enjoys creating things.

 

Kevin and Amy

I started watching Ryan when he was 3 months old. I care for him full time. We go on outings and play at home. My son absolutely loves having Ryan as part of his life and enjoys playing a big brother of sorts. Ryan is now 2 years old and I have been so blessed to watch him grow and develop. He’s a great little guy.

 

Hetal and Nic

I babysat for Teja a bunch of times. She was nine months when I started sitting for her. We went on walks and played at the park. I also went through the normal bedtime routine and put her to bed at night.

 

Joshua and Nicole

I was Dylan’s nanny from the time he was three weeks old until they have recently moved, and he is 2 years old. To say I worked for them is rather impersonal; I was a part of their family and they a part of mine. Dylan and Kale have grown up together as brothers. My responsibilities originally were only to care for Dylan, but if I had time, I would try to tidy up, do laundry and keep the household running smoothly. We played games together, did arts and crafts, went on walks, attended playgroups and mommy & me classes, and went to the park. A routine is very important for children so we followed a nap schedule and I wrote down all pertinent information throughout Dylan’s day for Josh and Nicole to read when they came home. I cared for Dylan for 30 to 70 hours per week (dependant on the week).

 

Carol

I cared for Josh, who was eleven months old, in Carol’s home while she worked in her home office. We all played games together. While they would nap I would prepare dinner. I would watch Josh for about three to four hours three days a week.

 

Petland Cary

Diana and Brad Ringlien, 1347 Kildaire Farm Road, Cary, NC 27511     (919) 481-6614

I was an integral part of the Petland team. I was responsible for opening and closing the store on certain days. People also came to me for with questions and asked for my advice. I was responsible for care and cleaning of animals and animal habitats. Customer service and sales quotas were expected from all employees. I worked at Petland Cary for one year.

 

Jennie and Jason

I helped Jennie and Jason on weekends with odd jobs around the house. Then, I would watch their 3-month-old son while they went out shopping, running errands and then had a date night. I enjoyed caring for over the course of six months.

 

John and Susie

I worked full time watching Bill (5 years) and John (10 years). I helped Bill and John get ready for school in the morning and then drove Bill to pre-school. Susan took John to school on her way to work. I would return to the Peebles’ home to do housework while Bill and John were at school. I picked up Bill at noon and we would eat lunch and play at the park or do arts and crafts. Then, we would pick up his brother at 3:00. I would help John with his homework when we returned. I also started dinner before Susie came home in the evenings.

 

Petland Orlando Central

3218B E. Colonial Drive, Orlando, FL 32806    (407) 894-1585

I was the manager of the aquatics department. I was also an integral part of the sales team. I helped train new employees and was responsible for opening and closing the store. If anything needed taken care of, I was the go-to girl. I was also responsible for animal and habitat care, feeding, and cleaning.

 

Pet Bazaar

Shane and Dorrie Hill, 490 State Road 436, Casselberry     (407) 260-0552

My responsibilities included taking care of animals, pricing, organizing, filing, sales, and

thorough cleaning.

 

Doug and Carole

I babysat for their two boys, Alexander and Benjamin, on various night and weekends over the span of about three years. I also watched their animals when they went on vacation.

 

Bargain Box

Rick Murton, 505 N. Virginia Ave., Winter Park     (407) 644-4043

I volunteered at this not-for-profit thrift store when I was in high school I was responsible for pricing merchandise, sorting useable and unusable items, cleaning the store, dressing mannequins, and setting aside toys for the Holiday Charity program.

 

Island Pet Shop

Bill & Karen Rush  180 South Courtenay Parkway, Merritt Island, FL 32952     

I volunteered at this store in elementary and middle school. I was responsible for taking care of animals, cleaning cages, and feeding animals.

 

I have cared for many other children and have more references I can provide.

I can provide all contact information for my references upon request.

websitepicnic.jpg

Letters of Recommendation
 
 

Dear Madam/Sir    

 

     My name is Nicole Smith and I have a two-year old son named Dylan. In October of 2003, I returned to work as a pharmacist at Arnold Palmer Hospital.  I decided that hiring a nanny would be the best choice for the care of my son.  A nanny could provide the most nurturing and loving environment in the protection of our own home. When I met Andrea Branagan, I knew I had found the perfect nanny.

 

    Andrea is responsible, reliable, and very patient.  Her approach to my son is one of love and respect.  Every day she engages him in activities that are both fun and educational.  She is also vigilant about his safety and well-being.  One of her most valued traits is her ability to communicate.  She keeps me informed of the events of the day, which allows me to participate in his care while I’m working. She is intuitive when it comes to meeting Dylan’s needs and shares this knowledge with me. In this way, we work as a team in order to assure continuity of care.

 

     Andrea is motivated and goal-oriented in every aspect of her life. She manages her time efficiently between work, school, and caring for her own son.  I admire her enthusiasm and commitment to achieving her goals. I highly recommend Andrea as nanny and as a friend. Andrea is more than a nanny to my son. I consider her and her son Kale to be a part of our family.  For us, she redefined the role of nanny to mean nurturing, fun loving, teacher, and friend.  I can never thank her enough for all that she has done for my family and me.  Please feel free to contact me for any further questions.

 

             

Sincerely,

Nicole, PharmD

Block

Dear Parents of Young Children,

I am pleased to write a letter of recommendation for Andrea Branagan and share my experience with her as my 2-year old daughter Désirée’s care taker. Andrea does not just watch and keep your child safe.  She is proactive with her care and understands the changing needs of children and families.

Nearly every day my daughter brought home artwork that she completed that day.  Through doing crafts, Andrea provided Désirée opportunities to work on fine and gross motor skills, sing songs, and learn letters of the alphabet.  She even made me a Mother’s Day present!  I never worried that Désirée was watching television all day.

In addition to planning activities while at home, she provided opportunities for social interaction.  She is involved with a very active playgroup that has at least one activity a week and usually as many as three a week.  In fact, we moved to Orlando six months ago, and Désirée has seen more of the city and the area than her father and I!

Finally, Andrea is flexible and easy to work with.  When Désirée first began going to Andrea’s, my schedule changed often and she was flexible with my husband and I until my schedule became more regular.  Also, Andrea did not charge when unexpected situations occurred and received short notice that Désirée would not be coming.

Andrea has many more qualities that make her a wonderful childcare provider, and I have briefly touched on some of the ones that were most outstanding to me.  Andrea is loving and warm with children and has a strong commitment to children and family.  I gladly and confidently recommend Andrea Branagan as a partner in the care and education of your child.

Sincerely,

Brenda

Block

~ Andrea Branagan ~ 25105 Bartholomew Street ~ Christmas, FL ~ (407) 486-5911 ~

daycare4.jpg